DAIS 2014: 14th International Conference on Distributed Applications and Interoperable Systems

A DisCoTec Member Conference

June 3-5, 2014, Berlin, Germany

Call for papersImportant datesSubmission and publicationPC ChairsProgramme CommitteeSteering Committee

Call for Papers


The annual IFIP DAIS conference is one of the leading international venues to discuss all aspects of distributed applications and systems, throughout their lifecycle. This includes the design, architecture, implementation and operation of distributed computing systems, their supporting middleware, appropriate software engineering methods and tools, as well as experimental studies and practical reports.

Following the success of past conferences in this series, the 14th International DAIS conference will provide a forum for researchers, industry practitioners, and users, to discuss and learn about new technologies, approaches, concepts and experiences in the field of distributed computing.

Submission tracks: DAIS offers three distinct submission tracks (Research papers, Practical Experience Reports, and Work-in-progress papers). Authors should indicate in their submission which track they are submitting to. All papers accepted in any of the tracks will be included in the conference proceedings.

Topics of Interest

DAIS'14 solicits high-quality papers reporting research results and/or experimental results in the area of distributed applications and interoperable systems. Submissions will be judged on their originality, significance, clarity, relevance, and technical correctness. The topics of interest to the conference include, but are not limited to:

  • Novel and innovative distributed applications and systems, in particular in the areas of middleware, peer-to-peer systems, cloud and grid computing, social networking, cyber-physical systems, mobile computing, service-oriented computing, and context-aware computing;
  • Novel architectures and mechanisms, in particular in the areas of pub/sub systems, language-based approaches, overlay network protocols, virtualisation, parallelization, bio-inspired distributed computing;
  • System issues and design goals, including self-management, trust and reputation, cooperation incentives and fairness, fault-tolerance and dependability, energy-efficiency, performance, robustness and scalability;
  • Engineering and tools, including model-driven engineering, domain-specific languages, design patterns and methods, testing and validation, distributed debugging.

Important dates

Abstract Submission:
February 1, 2014
Paper Submission:
February 7, 2014
Author Notification:
March 10, 2014
Camera-ready version:
March 24, 2014
Early registration:
May 5, 2014
Conference and workshops:  
June 3-6 2014
The time of all deadlines is 24:00 SST (UTC-11, Samoa Standard Time). The submission deadlines are strict, there will be no extension.

Submission and publication

DAIS'14 offers three submission tracks:

  • Full research papers with no more than 14 pages;
  • Full practical experience reports, including experimental and evaluation studies, case studies, and practice reports with no more than 14 pages;
  • Work-in-progress papers, describing ongoing work and interim results, with no more than 6 pages. All papers must be original, unpublished, and not submitted for publication elsewhere.

Contributions should be submitted electronically as PDF using the Springer LNCS style (http://www.springer.com/computer/lncs) to the conference submission website: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=dais2014

Each paper will undergo a thorough process of peer reviews by the Program Committee. All papers accepted in any of the conference tracks will be included in the conference proceedings, which will be published by Springer-Verlag in the LNCS series. Proceedings will be made available at the conference. Submission implies that at least one author will register and attend the conference if the paper is accepted.

Invited speakers

Frank Leymann (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
Maarten van Steen (VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Joachim Parrow (Uppsala University, Sweden)

PC Chairs

Stergios Anastasiadis (University of Ioannina, Greece)
Cosmin Arad (Google, USA)
Danilo Ardagna (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Carlos Baquero (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
Gordon Blair (Lancaster University, UK)
Wolfgang De Meuter (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium)
Jim Dowling (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
Frank Eliassen (University of Oslo, Norway)
David Eyers (University of Otago, Australia)
Paulo Ferreira (INESC ID / Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Kurt Geihs (Universitaet Kassel, Germany)
Karl Goeschka (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Franz Hauck (University of Ulm, Germany)
Peter Herrmann (NTNU Trondheim, Norway)
Eva Kalyvianaki (City University London, UK)
Boris Koldehofe (University Of Stuttgart, Germany)
Dejan Kostic (Institute IMDEA Networks, Spain)
Reinhold Kroeger (Wiesbaden University of Applied Sciences, Germany)
Benny Mandler (IBM Research, Israel)
Rene Meier (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
Hein Meling (University of Stavanger, Norway)
Pietro Michiardi (Institut Eurecom, France)
Alberto Montresor (University of Trento, Italy)
Kiran Muniswamy-Reddy (Amazon, USA)
Dirk Muthig (Lufthansa Systems, Germany)
George Papadopoulos (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)
Nikos Parlavantzas (INSA Rennes, France)
Jose Pereira (INESC TEC & Univ. Minho, Portugal)
Jayaram Radhakrishnan (HP Labs, USA)
Etienne Riviere (University of Neuchatel, Switzerland)
Giovanni Russello (University of Auckland, Australia)
Lionel Seinturier (University Lille 1, France)
Liuba Shrira (Brandeis University, USA)
Francois Taiani (Université de Rennes 1, France)
Luis Veiga (Instituto Superior Técnico - UTL / INESC-ID Lisboa, Portugal)
Spyros Voulgaris (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Steering Committee

Jim Dowling (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
Frank Eliassen (University of Oslo, Norway)
Pascal Felber (Université de Neuchâtel, Switzerland)
Karl Goeschka (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Seif Haridi (KTH, Sweden)
Rüdiger Kapitza (Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany)
Rui Oliveira (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
Romain Rouvoy (University Lille 1, France)
Francois Taiani (Université de Rennes 1, France)